Can I Get Compensation for a Clearwater Boating Accident?
One of the many perks to living in Florida is enjoying maritime activities. With so many beautiful beaches and harbors, many in Florida spend time on boats. The National Marine Manufacturers Association reports that there are more registered boats in the state of Florida than any other U.S. state.
Lots of boats can lead to hours and days of fun and relaxation, but there are also times when boating accidents occur. If you were on a boat and were injured because of another’s reckless behavior, financial compensation may be possible. After all, injuries can result in high medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost income. After a boat accident, talk to a Florida personal injury lawyer to learn about your options.
Boat Operators and Safety Procedures
When an individual is operating a boat, they have a responsibility to follow all maritime laws and safety protocols. If they do not do so, or if they are negligent, legal action may be possible. Boating injuries happen for a variety of reasons, some of the causes of boating injuries include the following.
- Operator is inexperienced
- There is alcohol or drug impairment
- Reckless behaviors, such as speeding
- Mechanical default or failure
- Sudden change of weather
The owner and operator of a boat should be doing all they can to provide a safe boat, for their own safety, the safety of their passengers, and others.
Be Sure to Seek Medical Attention Following a Boating Injury
It is important to assess everyone’s health after a maritime accident. If there is any injury at all, big or small, seek medical attention immediately. If help is needed, immediately call an ambulance or the Coast Guard. Time is important when treating injuries. Life threatening harm is possible when there are injuries to the neck, head, or internal organs.
Once everyone’s safety is confirmed, an accident report will have to be filed. If a person is injured, the accident report needs to be filed within 48 hours. When there is property damage but no physical injuries, the timeline is extended. In those instances, there is a 10 day timeline for filing an accident report. Be sure to keep a record of all reports as well.
After a maritime accident that has resulted in injury, talk to a Florida personal injury lawyer. If you have medical bills and other items in need of compensation, connect with a legal professional. You have a right to compensation when another person or entity was negligent.
Did you sustain an injury in a Florida boat crash? Talk to an experienced attorney as soon as possible to strengthen your case. When another is negligent, you are not responsible for all of the fees connected to an accident. With over 100 years of combined experience, the personal injury lawyers at Roman & Roman will help you to understand your rights. Schedule your free consultation today in Clearwater, Hudson, or Tampa.