Tampa DUI Attorney
While most people believe that driving with a few drinks in their system is nowhere near the level of crime as theft or assault, the truth is anything but. An assault, without causing harm to another, is punishable as a misdemeanor in the second degree with a fine not to exceed $500 and no more than 60 days in jail. Those that have been convicted of driving under the influence (a DUI) can expect to have much harsher penalties depending on the circumstances, the experience of their attorney, and the mood of the court. Make no mistake; our legal system realizes just how dangerous drunk drivers are to society. They are responsible for almost one third all traffic fatalities in Florida and the United States as a whole, and are punished accordingly. However, there are important steps that we can take to minimize the penalties or have the charges thrown out in their entirety. Our Tampa DUI defense attorneys have been, for many years, successfully helping our clients beat DUI charges or have them drastically reduced. Contact us immediately if you have been charged with a DUI and our Tampa DUI attorneys will begin working on your case at once to ensure that you do not face the harshest penalties that the law has to offer. Do not go with a second rate legal team or attempt to take care of this matter by yourself. There is simply too much at stake. Call us today at 877-767-1032.
The Charges of a DUI Depend on the Level of Your Intoxication and History of DUIs
As with any other state of federal crime, your record will come into play when being sentenced for a DUI conviction. Multiple convictions are not uncommon. In fact, in Florida in 2014 there were 113,076 three time offenders of DUIs, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving. Due to the prevalence of repeat offenders, the court is cracking down on first time offenders and those with multiple DUI offenses as well. According to statute 316.193, the following penalties can be expected based on the level of intoxication and prior history of drunk driving. The first DUI conviction is punishable by up to six months in prison and fine of up to $1,000. The second DUI conviction is punishable by up to nine months in prison and fine of up to $2,000. With a child in the car or a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or greater, the punishments will be even harsher. And, the third DUI conviction, within 10 years from the second DUI, is punishable as a third degree felony. A person convicted of a third degree felony can spend as much as five years in prison.
Do not throw your life away. Contact the Tampa DUI defense attorneys of Roman & Roman today if you are facing DUI charges whether this is your first DUI or not. Call us at 877-767-1032 so that we can begin working at once.