Tampa Misdemeanor Attorney
While a misdemeanor is a less severe penalty than a felony, it can still have an incredibly negative impact on you and your family’s lives. In fact, a misdemeanor in Florida can easily land an individual in jail for an extended period of time, in which they would likely lose their means of employment, would not be able to continue paying rent or their mortgage, and would possibly return to a life on the outside with nothing. It is all too common in our criminal justice system for a person to fall through the cracks when they do not have the proper legal counsel. A small amount of marijuana can cripple a person’s life and future in a matter of days. For example, possession of just a diminutive amount of marijuana (less than 20 grams) is a first degree misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000, according to statute 775.083 and statute 775.082. A second degree misdemeanor, such as underage drinking (legally called a minor in possession), is punishable by a maximum jail term of 60 days and a fine of $500. When fighting a felony charge, a defendant may find some substantial solace in having the charges reduced to a first degree misdemeanor. However, if you have been charged with a misdemeanor, we will put forth an argument for all charges to be dropped at once. There may have been an illegal search of your property or person, evidence may have been misconstrued, or other details of the prosecution that may have flaws or weaknesses. If you have been charged with an offense that falls under the category of a misdemeanor, call our Tampa law offices today at 877-767-1032 to speak with one of our Tampa misdemeanor attorneys.
Examples of Offenses Punishable With a Misdemeanor of the First or Second Degree
- The first conviction of a minor in possession of alcohol (MIP) is a second degree misdemeanor, while the second conviction is a first degree misdemeanor (statute 562.111);
- The improper exhibition of a dangerous weapon in public is a first degree misdemeanor (statute 790.10);
- Theft of property valued at less than $100 is a second degree misdemeanor, while property valued at $100 to $300 is a first degree misdemeanor (statute 812.014). However, the second conviction of theft or shoplifting property, even if the value was less than $100 both times, is a first degree misdemeanor;
- Causing damage to property or injury to another person while driving under the influence of alcohol is a first degree misdemeanor, according to the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles; and
- Refusing to give a breath, urine, or blood test for alcohol content can be used as evidence of a DUI and the second or subsequent refusal of such a test is a first degree misdemeanor.
Whatever the charges are that are being brought against you, it is in your best interest to hire an attorney with vast experience in dealing with misdemeanor offenses. The Tampa Misdemeanors defense attorneys at the Tampa law offices of Roman & Roman can be reached today at 877-767-1032.