What Are Florida’s Sex Offender Registration Requirements?
Like all other states across the nation, the state of Florida has developed a sex offender registration program, which helps both law enforcement officials and members of the public to be aware of where registered sex offenders are living and working. If an individual who has been designated a sex offender and required to register, he or she commits a crime by failing to report a new home or work address to law enforcement officials. Registered sex offenders should be aware of these and all of the strict requirements for them under Florida law in order to avoid criminal charges.
As a general rule, an individual who is convicted of a sex crime is classified as either a sexual offender or a sexual predator for the purposes of sexual offender registration requirements in the state of Florida. A sexual offender is anyone who meets the following criteria:
- Convicted of a qualifying sexual offense in Florida or in another jurisdiction
- Released from incarceration and/or is on parole or probation for a qualifying sexual offense committed on or after October 1, 1997
- Maintained a transient, temporary, or permanent residence in Florida and has a registration requirement in Florida or in another jurisdiction
- Has been adjudicated delinquent on or after July 1, 2007 for one of several sex offenses and was at least 14 years old at the time of committing the offense
Sexual offenders are required to register with their local sheriff’s office within 48 hours of being released from incarceration or supervision, providing that office with personal identifying information, home and work addresses, information about any schools that they are attending, identifying information for all vehicles owned, fingerprints, and palm prints. After registering, a sexual offender also must secure or renew a driver’s license or identification card with a sex offender designation on it, if he or she does not already have one. Some sexual offenders are required to register four times per year, and some two times per year, depending on the nature of the crime involved.
In some cases, if an individual has been convicted of a sexually violent offense in Florida and has a written court order that designates him or her as a sexual predator, then the individual is classified as a sexual predator. An individual also may be designated as a sexual predator if he or she has been civilly committed under the Jimmy Ryce Sexually Violent Predator Act and has a written court order that designates him or her as a sexual predator. This status makes him or her subject to the same registration and reporting requirements than someone who has the status of a sexual offender, except that a sexual predator is required to report four times per year.
Contact Your Florida Criminal Defense Lawyers for Help
At Roman & Roman in Clearwater, we focus our advocacy on those individuals who have been accused various types of crimes. No matter whether you face charges related to sex offender registration or another type of criminal offense, you potentially will be subject to severe penalties if convicted. The consequences of facing criminal charges alone is likely to be enough to disrupt the life that you and your family have worked so hard to build. We know how to build a strong defense in your criminal case and work toward resolving your case in as positive a manner as possible. Reach out to us today and schedule an appointment to speak with us.